b r o k e n

Me: He called my cellphone and I didn’t want to answer. You know, there was a time when I was sitting right there and I would have loved that. But he hasn’t been that guy in a while.

Friend: But you were really happy.

Me: And one day, we weren’t. And i know there’s supposed to be some huge, important reason why but there’s not. It’s just a feeling that I have. This isn’t what I want for the rest of my life.

Friend: People have a right to change!

Me: Yes! But they also have the right to stay the same. They have a right to be the exact same person they’ve always been. I didn’t change. He did. And somehow, I’m the one who’s broken because of it.

Friend: You’re not broken.

Me: Thanks! I hope not.

Leave a Reply

